Functional Programming Resources

When I was a (not so fresh faced) student a lecturer attempted to teach us functional programming in the guise of Haskell. Around the same time our maths lecturer was expousing the joys of Lamba Calculus and the brilliance of it's creator Alonzo Church.

Us hapless students were also getting to grips with Object Orientated programming and programming in general. Looking back now I can see why this was on the curriculum and am thankful to have gleaned some knowledge on the subject.

When I started looking at my first Scala video on coursera, taught by Martin Odersky, there was some tingling when I heard the mention of the substitution model.

I didn't complete the scala course, I got busy (or scared), can't quite remember. Over the past year or so I've found myself hearing and learning more about functional programming with Javascript. So here are some of the resources I've been using. There's a lot out there so thought it'd be good to have a somewhat curated list that is not too overwhelming.

Books

Javascript Allonge

Professor Frisby's Mostly Adequate Guide to Functional Programming

Blog

Functional Programming for Javascript People

Video#

Not strictly all functional but some good info and a funny chap to boot.

FunFunFunction

Libraries

Lodash FP

Enjoy!